Plymouth Colony was founded in 1620 by a group of people who later came to be known as the "Pilgrims". Plymouth County was formed 02-Jun-1685 when Plymouth Colony was divided into three counties: Plymouth, Bristol and Barnstable. Plymouth County is bounded by Norfolk County on the north, Barnstable County and Buzzards Bay on the south, Cape Cod Bay on the east, and Bristol County on the west.